Beauty’s-Full?

Well it is late. I just finished work and for some reason I am having a craving… A craving for breakfast, although maybe at this hour it can be called brinner? Breakfast for dinner I love it!
I like the fact in Asia you order soup for breakfast. But being a true Canadian I also love bacon,eggs,beans,homefrys,pancakes,bagels & cream cheese. The works!
Where to go for this… Well although it is a bit pricey and always packed Beauty’s to me does it right. Located on Mont-Royal/St-Urbain this place has been around for ever. It looks exactly what you would think a 50’s diner would look like.
You can get anything from a classic Montreal bagel, cream cheese and smoked salmon with red onion and capers too Mac and cheese. I lean towards the standard breakfast adding blueberry pancakes. If I’m feeling saucy, or hungover 😉 I get a smoothie with it.
They make great banana bread! The maple syrup truly Canadian and delicious as well.
My mouth is watering on this one. I’m going to stop here. If you are from Montreal chances are you have already tasted the goods. If you are visiting this is definitely a place you should not miss!

5 Responses to “Beauty’s-Full?”

  1. I think I will have to plan a trip to Montreal just for that delicious sounding bagel: then again the maple syrup pancakes also sound very good indeed. Choices, choices. In the meantime, whilst I save my pennies, might you maybe have a really good pancake recipe that I could try at home? I mean the little pancakes that are quite deep ( well I mean “fat” but does that sound rude?), i.e.) not the thin crêpe-like ones that spread all over the pan. Can you make them in a heavy fry pan or do need something special to make them in? We had some of these on our USA/Canada trip last year and my entire family would be beyond delighted if I learned how to make them here in the Netherlands for Sunday breakfast treats LOL, YES we DID bring back REAL Maple syrup ! We loved diners too, aren’t they wonderful!!!!?

  2. Kristy Wilson Says:

    When I saw your title Beauty’s-Full?, I thought you were going to suggest an alternative because Beauty’s is always full!! So let me suggest one that is cheaper and yet still offers the full breakfast option. Try Bagels etc. on St-Laurent near Rachel if you haven’t already, it’s great especially for people with little to no cash (opt for the Classic $4.95).

    Of course, Bagels Etc. is also really busy but if you are two or go early enough it is great!

  3. Hey Kristy
    Ya I guess that was my original thought. It always seems to be full. I go to bagel etc. alot love that place! Secretly always hoping Leonard Cohen will be there! But sadly he never is. Thanks for reminding me of that place.

  4. Nothing rude about fat pancakes kiwi haha.
    A good recipe, well to be honest I don’t make pancakes that often. Usually have them when I go out for breakfast. But I remember when I was a kid my mother used to also take out the Joy of cooking cookbook and use that recipe. They always turned out great! Although I am not the type to use recipes for the most part. Joy of cooking is one of the few cookbooks I’d say everyone should have. Take care hope that leads you to the right place

  5. Well actually this is a pretty fail safe recipe:
    Pancakes
    1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    2 tablespoons sugar (optional)
    3/4 teaspoon salt
    1 1/2 cups milk
    1 egg
    2 – 3 tablespoons oil

    Mix the dry ingredients together, then add the milk and eggs. Mix well and try to get some of the lumps out of the batter. Don’t worry about making it perfectly smooth. It will be fine.

    Heat a skillet on medium heat. When heated, scoop the pancake batter recipe into the frying pan with a large spoon to make individual pancakes. Cook on one side until the top begins to bubble, then flip over and cook on the other side.

Leave a Reply

